Development Costing

The keywords Industry 4.0, interconnectivity, autonomous driving, climate change and electrification usually correlate directly with steadily increasing spending on development work. A large share of these development costs is incurred on commissioning external service providers. With our calculations we provide support to Procurement so they can assess the value of the requested services and put the results into action in negotiations.

Globalisation
and competition

The traditional manufacturers of industrial products have to adapt themselves and their research and development activities to new competitors and their innovative products at lightning speed. This means there is strong cost pressure on process and product.

Project and product costs

The Product Development
Process (PDP)

The phases in the PDP depend
on the industry and customer

  • 1

    Phase 1

    PRODUCT DEFINITION

  • 2

    Phase 2

    CONCEPT DEVELOPMENT AND VALIDATION

    SERIES DEVELOPMENT AND VALIDATION

  • 3

    Phase 3

    PREPARATION OF SERIES PRODUCTION

    LAUNCH OF SERIES PRODUCTION

The first costs to be incurred in the early phase of the product development process are the development costs. After commissioning a supplier, the development costs usually increase rapidly as the project progresses as a result of changes. Using our Development Costing approach it is possible to determining the costs of developing components and software enabling the potential for cost reductions to be addressed more effectively in negotiations.

Impact of development
on costs

The methodology we have developed enables us to analyse in detail the very complex processes for hardware and software which run in a series of continuous iteration loops in an agile development and to depict these processes transparently. This is based on a comprehensive basis of knowledge and data and a calculation tool which provide the results in a transparent and clear manner.

AWS Development Costing - Calculation

Calculation tool output

The costing itself can be set up along the product development process (PDP) on an industry-specific basis as well as on a company-specific basis. The PDP is divided up into the smallest of sub-processes with clear tasks being defined for each sub-process. Working out particular cost-drivers for the sub-processes allows the costs of the different project requirements to be calculated in detail.

Development Costing

Die Schlagwörter Industrie 4.0, Vernetzung, Autonomes Fahren, Klimawandel und Elektrifizierung stehen in der Regel in direktem Zusammenhang mit stetig steigenden Ausgaben für die Entwicklung. Ein hoher Anteil dieser Entwicklungskosten entsteht durch die Beauftragung externer Dienstleister. Wir unterstützen mit unseren Berechnungen den Einkauf bei der Einschätzung der Wertigkeit der angefragten Leistungen und der Umsetzung der Ergebnisse in der Verhandlung.

Globalisierung &
Wettbewerbsdruck

Die traditionellen Hersteller von Industrieprodukten müssen sich und ihre Forschungs- und Entwicklungskosten in rasanter Geschwindigkeit auf neue Wettbewerber und deren innovative Produkte einstellen. Dies bedeutet einen stark steigenden Kostendruck auf Prozess und Produkt.

Projekt- und Produktkosten

Der Produkt-
entstehungsprozess (PEP)

Phaseneinteilung des PEP ist
branchen- und kundenspezifisch

  • 1

    Phase 1

    Produktdefinition

  • 2

    Phase 2

    Konzeptentwicklung- und -Absicherung

    Serienentwicklung- und -Absicherung

  • 3

    Phase 3

    SERIENvorbereitung

    SERIENhochlauf

In der frühen Phase des Produktentstehungsprozesses sind die ersten Kosten, die anfallen, Entwicklungskosten. Nach der Vergabe an einen Lieferanten steigen diese in der Regel mit Fortschreiten des Projektes aufgrund von Änderungen deutlich an. Mit unserem Development Costing Ansatz ist es möglich, die Kosten von Bauteil- und Softwareentwicklungen zu ermitteln und somit Reduzierungspotenziale in Verhandlungen besser umzusetzen.

Kosteneinfluss der Entwicklung

Die hierfür von uns entwickelte Methodik ermöglicht es, die im Rahmen einer agilen Entwicklung sehr komplexen, in kontinuierlichen Iterationsschleifen ablaufende Prozesse für Hard- und Software detailliert zu analysieren, sowie übersichtlich darzustellen. Die Grundlage hierzu bildet eine umfangreiche Wissens- und Datenbasis und ein Kalkulationstool, welches die Ergebnisse der Berechnung nachvollziehbar und übersichtlich darstellt.

Kalkulationstool-Output

Die Kalkulation selbst kann sowohl branchen- als auch unternehmensspezifisch entlang des Produktentstehungsprozesses (PEP) aufgebaut werden. Dieser wird dabei in kleinste Teilprozesse zerlegt und für jeden Teilprozess klare Aufgaben definiert. Durch die Erarbeitung spezieller Kostentreiber für Teilprozesse ist es möglich, die Aufwendungen bei der Abarbeitung der unterschiedlichen Projektanforderungen differenziert zu berechnen.